|New Set Up|
We picked the demolition scenario (the one where each side defends an area while trying to destroy the opponents).
During set up he announced he had three units to forward deploy that included two Air Observers. I thought you were limited to one, but could not find that so we moved forward. I have since confirmed this is legal as he had two platoons, we just had not seen it before. I had brought one air observer for the first time for me.
Turn one did not see a lot of action. My squads were able to put some pins on his Greyhound. My Panzer IV did not have a good target so it forced his greyhound to recce and go down and fired upon one of the observers in a building scoring one hit and then a lucky six for the kill. My Mortar scored a rare first turn hit on his sniper team, but only managed one kill.
Turn two saw both Air Strikes come in. He scored a fighter bomber and laid waste to the MK IV. I was not so lucky and only received a straffer which managed to put some pins out, but did nothing to the M5 Stuart I had targeted.
|Panzer IV Destroyed by Air strike|
|American Staurt and other units receive pin markers|
At that point some reason he decided to try to move his greyhound early and failed the morale roll (4 pins at the time) which forced it to go down. This brought up a question on recce. It is my understanding that if a vehicle is down it cannot recce. The rules/errata do clarify a vehicle can only recce once per turn, but do not state what happens if it is already down. Since you have to put a down marker on a vehicle after it executes a recce move we agreed prior to the start that a vehicle with a down order cannot recce. (This is currently being asked and debated on some forums) As a result I was able to successfully bring on my 251 w/anti tank gun and target the Greyhound. I scored a hit and a kill (Such a good Dad).
|M8 Greyhound the victim of Anti-Tank Gun|
My large Vet Grenadier squad also advanced and took out hisParatrooper MMG. My success was short lived. Just as he was complaining that the tide was turning against him his Sherman came on took a long range shot at the 251 and obliterated it.
As the final move at the end of turn two I also brought on my truck loaded with an assault squad and officer and parked it in range of a building with an American Squad inside. I did have a MMG right next to the building so we agreed this was legal as the MMG was closer to the enemy than the transport. Either way it was going to come down to that had the first die n the next turn.
Fortunately for the Germans they drew first Die and the 7 man Assault squad wiped out the American is the building taking 3 casualties themselves as it was simultaneous. My transport was now prime target for him and he spent the rest of the turn on the side lighting it up with small arms until his HMG finally provided the killing blow taking out the truck and the officer who could not dismount in time.
|Opel Blitz succumbs to small arms fire|
I also attempted to assault his Stuart which was able to Recce to a safe distance leaving my squad in the open.
This ended Turn three and our play for the evening as it was already after 11PM. The plan was to finish the next night as school had already been called for the next day. The American final air strike was poised to come in on my last vehicle on the board (222) and my Ketterand with Flamethrower team are on a flanking move.
At this point I would say he has the advantage with two tanks still in play, but he had taken up a strong defense and to win he would have to advance across the board to get my base. At best I felt I could still force a draw. This is Bolt Action and we all know in turn 5 and 6 anything can happen. :D
Not to be thwarted I pressed on as I still had a surprise or two remaining. I opened with my Mortar team who amazingly hit again taking out what was left of his sniper team. This Mortar team would go on to be cited for valor as they ended up hitting 5 of the six turns (twice with a roll of six).
|Mortars range in and keep the fire hot|
|Panzerfaust strike hard|
Turn Five was very interesting. I had a large advantage in order dice and luckily pulled the first one. In order for my flamethrower to get a shot they had to advance into the open, but this time only rolled a one.
|Desperate assault results in mutual destruction|
|Vet Grenadiers take cover|
|Hitler's buzz saw opens up|
|Assault to challenge the objective....maybe not|